Best trade perks? Workshop or Caravan

Users who are viewing this thread

I am doing a dedicated trader playthrough this time and I am wondering which perks work best.
BTW not a fan of the mandatory choice between two perks.

Apraisser vs Whole Seller:
Appraiser
15% decrease in sell price penalty for equipments.
Your profits are marked.

Whole Seller
15% decrease in sell price penalty for trade goods.
Your profits are marked.

As a trader I choose Whole Seller. But the amount of loot after battles makes me think that a bonus to selling equipment in the long run is way more profitable.

Caravan Master vs Market Dealer:
Caravan Master
Party can carry 30% more weight.
Mark item prices relative to average price.

Market Dealer:
Your shop have 20% less upkeep.
Mark item prices relative to average price.

Does the Caravan Master perk only apply to your weight limit or also to your caravans?
At to moment I cannot check in-game, but what is the average upkeep for a workshop and is the 20% reduction a good investment?

Traveling rumors VS Local connection
Traveling rumors:
Your caravans gather trade rumors.
15% decrease in buy price penalty from villages.

Local connection:
Your workshops gather trade rumors.
15% decrease in sell price penalty for Animals.

I think both options are ok. Is there a big difference between the trade rumors? I assume that if you pick up items at a town where you have a workshop, you can benefit directly from a good rumor related to the finished product.

Any advice on the way to go as a trader?

I usually pick whole seller for my character and appraiser for parties because you get enough money for battles either way. Whole seller is better to get more trading xp I think since you get more profit.
Shops have a little upkeep so I go for caravan master since the new herd penalty, that way I can carry extra war horses for upgrades.