My Bannerlord Review

Users who are viewing this thread

Urbanski

Regular
I'm totally new to the Mount & Blade series. I have to say I'm really enjoying the game, it's got huge potential. I've only gone through one play through as I wanted to get to experience mid-end game...so far the positives massively outweigh the negatives.

I feel I've seen enough to form a decent opinion of the game. Sorry for the wall of text.

The things I like.

Battles - this really is the juicy bit, the thing that keeps me playing. Huge 500 v 500 battles are so much fun, when playing Total War I always wanted to take part in those huge battles, now I can...epic!!

The World & Lore - each faction does feel unique and has their own strengths and weaknesses, it still needs quite a bit of balancing (Sturgia) but I think it's a really good start.

The Economy - trading, workshops, caravans - I sunk a lot of time into this bit early on and made many mistakes but generally I think these elements work well and I love that it's dynamic and ever changing due to events locally and globally.

Gear - weapons & armor - again sunk a lot of time trying out different weapons and armor. On the whole the armor looks great and the weapons feel about right, would like to see a lot more options of both. More two hand axes anyone?

Encyclopedia - this has been a real game saver for me and it's a really smart addition to the game. I do feel that it is replacing a few things that should be visible through the UI however, like who is at war with whom etc...

Companions - I love having them and they are very useful especially if you get them to create their own party and follow you. However companions do not seem to level up at all, maybe a +1 now and again in riding or something. They also have bizarre attribute distribution. I have a companion with the medicine skill and 0 intelligence? Seems all companion attribute points are in the combat skills?

Things I dislike.