Advice for a total noob?

Users who are viewing this thread

shostak

Squire
Hey all.

First off, sorry  mods if this is in the wrong place, but as my question concerns vikingr I thought I'd put it here.

Some of you may recognise me as Kolak. I'm nearly totally useless at multiplayer on vikingr, but I love it. I enjoy the roleplay aspect, and the general viking madness. What I'm asking for is any advice you can give, not on fighting in a shield wall; I can do and understand that, but in fighting other people. I realise that this will come in time with practise, but I wondered if there were any tips you could give to a fellow warrior.

Many thanks

Shostak

Playing some native helps. I don't want to tell you to change to native, because the melee combat is totally different there and battle/deathmatch servers wont help, because archers and cav dominate the battlefield there.
But duelservers do help a lot. There you can learn movement, close combat with a sword only and manual blocking which is also important for playing in Vikingr.
Do that for like 10-15 mins whenever you play. :smile:

In Vikingr it is nice to try out different weapons. If you aren't that good at manual block, take always a shield, but don't play with 2handed axes, they arent that easy to handle, especially while fighting someone with an axe or langseax.
Once you can block most attacks, supporting your teammates with an 2handed axe is nice and useful. Also a spear is a weapon you should use, either with a shield or without (there it depends how quick you can block).

Javelins are also quite fun, easy to cause some nice damage and let the enemy be scared. :razz:

Sure, you can also play Archer and cav sometimes, they are both fun classes but you know this mod is concentrated on melee mostly. But playing Archer and cav sometimes helps to understand how to avoid an arrow, a spear thrust or a bump by a horse.

When using a 1 hander and shield: