Horses: text vs modSYS

Users who are viewing this thread

mercury19

Sergeant at Arms
Greetings. I am mercury19. I am a full on newbie modder.

I've just started my first project, which I plan on releasing some day. I've managed to get the MS working, which I tested with a few basic changes and dunde's dynamic troop trees. As I went to start editing troops, I realized that there were not nearly enough horses. So I went and found wanderer949's Horse Mod's (http://forums.taleworlds.com/index.php/topic,100898.0.html) and proceede to attempt to install it. Upon reading the readme however, I found that it doesn't use the module system. This has me confounded to no end. I was under the impression that work in the MS erases work in the txt files, and besides I'd like to keep it all in one system. But I can't change the info to MS because I don't understand the .txt language, I'm guessing python.

So basically I would to know how to understand, at the very least, a horse entry for the .txt's, and possibly the other items as well. I searched the forums, both manually and with the search function, and I even tried to line up the two different kinds of entries with an existing horse. But I still don't understand.

Thanks for the help, M19

Sumpter horse in module system:
Code:
 ["sumpter_horse","Sumpter Horse", [("sumpter_horse",0)], itp_merchandise|itp_type_horse, 0, 134,abundance(90)|hit_points(100)|body_armor(14)|difficulty(1)|horse_speed(37)|horse_maneuver(39)|horse_charge(9)|horse_scale(100),imodbits_horse_basic],

Copy that to a new line, change the stats, name, mesh, and module system identifier, and you're good to go. :smile:

wandere's horses are resources with recommended values for copy-pasting into the text files - you can define them however you want in the module system as per the above post, and I'm sure there's more than 1 open-source mods that already use them so you can use the module_items entry for those horses.