Empires Mod Concept Stage

Users who are viewing this thread

Stonewall382

Knight at Arms
Hi everybody!  *waves*

The idea for the mod is thus:  the mod is relatively the same as Vanilla.  However, there will be many more castles, and what to do with castles will be...expanded, to say the least.  Anyhoo, I've been wracking my brain for the past six months (the past three moderately intensively) for ideas of what to do, and I've come up with a list.  A lot of these (the ones near the top for the most part), I know almost for sure how I want to mod them in, and the rest of them, I have an idea of how to do.  As always though, I could use criticism of my own ideas, as well as ideas from other people.  I already have a few of the most fundamental parts working (basically so far I've ported my Economy Mod to Python so far, and made it a lot cooler looking, as well as expanding it), so don't give me **** about this being a pipe dream.
Alright, enough talk, here's the list:

Taxing--Tax parties traveling to destinations on map/in realm of castle--More population, more tax parties needed, don't let them get attacked (percentage of
population being taxed, or is that too much?)

Population Happiness--Affected by a number of different variables, such as tax rate, perhaps culture rating, number of foods eaten in the city

Economic growth (too much taxation slows growth, economic upgrades designed to enlarge tax base)

Castle Population--Different types of population (because of the laws idea below--military for soldiers, workers for...workers, etc., but all draw from the population variable) so player needs to determine how to use people

Levy rates (don't really like--I'd rather make the player take straight from the working population (which is, for all intents and purposes, THE population),
then being able to dissolve the soldiers back into population after threat is over (give back items, too?)

Population growth rates (linked somewhat to economic growth, obviously)