Crossbow on Horseback ?

Users who are viewing this thread

Selothi

Baron
So yeah, I've been experimenting with this. See, I thought that given the power crossbows have, on horseback they'd be pretty effective. Well, I got my hands on a Masterwork Light Crossbow. I was wondering how it might work on horseback. I try, and realise it is utterly pathetic. The weapon is supposed to deal 39 damage. Attacking a bunch of Vaegir Footmen deserters, i could score no more than thirty on horseback. I have crossbow skill cheated up to 300+, so that can't be a problem.

Moreso, while one headshot dealt 91 damage, most of them deal no more than 50. Disappointing. And finally, the range of that weapon in Native is pitiable.

Basically, even on foot, I find that the bow is far superior: why do I get more damage from it ? And besides, it shoots faster, so where is the problem ? Something that deals twenty more damage points should be lethal, but other than in the hand of the AI, I really don't see what's the point in using it aside from having no skill requirement.

Maybe so, but a bow still seems much more efficient. Aside from the skill requirement, you have something that fires easily twice as fast, has good range usually, and twice as much ammo in the quivers. So, really, it seems rather that the crossbow is underpowered; but I'm loathe to edit it, as that would mean Rhodoks would have sniper rifles ! Well, we'll see ... if i do it in the tEatRC mod, it'd be alright, as very few units use crossbows. Hmm ...

You also need about 12 total skill points for the weapon to become minimally effective. 16+, if you want to be proficient at it. There's also horse archery and powerdraw that's required.

Powerdraw shouldn't even affect damage on a bow; a bow doesn't shoot the arrow any faster the harder you pull it back. There's a maximum draw length and going beyond that it going to seriously damage the bow, not make the shot any more powerful.