Why I hate Prophecy of Pendor

Users who are viewing this thread

Jec94227

Master Knight
SO I started playing this a bit in Mount and Blade, and saw a few months ago that it had been ported to Warband. So I figure I'll give it a try. And so, without further ado here's my reasons to hate it.

Vicky. I simply cannot go back a a different mod or Native, ever agin because of Vicky. She is a harsh ***** of a taskmaster, and appears every time I enter a battle in a different mod, she's there, demanding that I stop wasting my time with this inferior product and return to prophecy of Pendor. "What, no formations?"she asks as I play Native, "Why do you're troops simply charge ahead like mindless idiots?" as I play AD 1257.

The fief management system plays a role in this as well. I think to myself "Hey I think I'll just play around on Hundred Years War for a bit." So I boot it up, and manage to ignore Vicky's constant comparisons. Then her devious partner shows up when I try to manage a village or one of my castles. "Hey, wouldn't it be great if you could send out some prospectors? Or implement a standard health system so this village grows faster? No? I see, you'd rather build (sigh) a Manor, or a windmill, or a school who gives a single one time benifit for all that time you've put into building it up. That's cool I guess." Of course, I'm unable to resist these two devious entities, and I soon find myself back on Prophecy of Pendor.

Doesn't matter that I enjoy the history behind mods like Hundred Years war or Bretynwalda. Doesn't matter that I find Native to be actually enjoyable. Doesn't matter at all, becuse of you magnificent bastards who have created Prophecy of Pendor have gotten the claws of addiction sunk deep into my mind.

So in short, I'm not sure if I should thank you for creating an interesting and enjoyable mod for one of my favorite games, or hate you for ensuring that I'll play it and it alone as long as I'm playing Warband.