MMO Campaign... is it possible?

Users who are viewing this thread

Hello dear community.
I'm the new guy... and i only really registered for one reason...
to ask:
Would it be possible (in theory) to make an mmo campaign map.
Like there are 20 servers every server can have up to x amount of players roaming the map at the same time.
They have levels like ingame (maybe leveling a bit slower) and can either start as mercenaries following other lords (or staying closeby like in the campaign with lords who request to follow you) or to get their own armies.

This is my question. Is this possible in theory? Because this thought was in my mind for years now... but the bannerlords trailers have sparked new fire into this thought. And seeing as bannerlords wont be out for at least half a year... i wanted to look for someone to a) answer me this question and
b) if its possible maybe even make such a thing. Im not a good programmer and only know basics of java and html so yea :grin:

And just to get this off my mind a short version of what i would imagine this looks like (if you know its impossible and dont want to read some dudes nerdgasm then end it here :grin:):

okay so
- normal campaign map (about 10-20 times the size, but not more cities just more space to adjust to traveltime, if someone is in a battle)
- about 100 players on the map at the same time, all with their own armies... or in the armie of another lord.
-payment for mercenaries goes for level and by online time. A completly offline player lvl 50 gets 5000 gold a day but if hes online 12 hours he gets 12000 (for online) and 2500 for offline. And by troop strength (calculated differently)
- players who are offline fight (with all their troops) like a normal lord if attacked. This is the reason why you should hide in castles and cities if you log out.
- major money adjustments (kings would need millions to feed their troops)