Change Ransom Amounts

Users who are viewing this thread

mawcs

Recruit
Hi all.  I'm trying to figure out how to change the amount that is offered by other kingdoms for ransom of lords.  Does anybody know how to do this?

Search module_scripts for "offer_ransom_amount_to_player_for_prisoners_in_party". You may also want to look for "enemy_offer_ransom_for_prisoner" in module_game_menus. That is the menu you are sent to from the script I just mentioned.

My apologies, I should have mentioned.  I'm new to modding M&B.  I have some python experience, but these txt files with numbers are foreign to me.  How do I know what these numbers mean and what is to be changed?

Incidentally, the "offer_ransom_amount_to_player_for_prisoners_in_party" seems to apply to prisoners in my party.  What about prisoners in a jail of a castle or town?  I am specifically looking to make the ransom amounts for lords different.

Well, I can't help you with editing the text files. I only work with the module system. But I believe that script also applies to prisoners in centers. Here is the trigger in module_simple_triggers the calls that script. As you can see, it first checks the player's party and then checks walled centers:
Code:
  # Offering ransom fees for player's prisoner heroes
  (24,
   [(neq, "$g_ransom_offer_rejected", 1),
    (call_script, "script_offer_ransom_amount_to_player_for_prisoners_in_party", "p_main_party"),
    (eq, reg0, 0),#no prisoners offered
    (assign, ":end_cond", walled_centers_end),
    (try_for_range, ":center_no", walled_centers_begin, ":end_cond"),
      (party_slot_eq, ":center_no", slot_town_lord, "trp_player"),
      (call_script, "script_offer_ransom_amount_to_player_for_prisoners_in_party", ":center_no"),
      (eq, reg0, 1),#a prisoner is offered
      (assign, ":end_cond", 0),#break
    (try_end),
    ]),

What this would all look like in the text files, I don't know.