1.5.1 - Cavarly is pretty weak while archers are still the way to go.

Users who are viewing this thread

Dabos37

Sergeant Knight at Arms
Yes, it is me again opening threads about this. Sorry for that but I think we have a really important balancing issue here which should be fixed. The problem is that archers are much more effective than cavalry and infantry units in the game and there is not really a reason to recruit other kind of unit but archers. The AI is not able to effectively protect against player's archers, while cavalry AI is especially bad in 1.5.0. Here you can two videos to compare, both battles against the same :

I know that I have just charged with my cav units and did not managed them at all but it is what actually happens in most of the battles and you simply cannot baby sit cavalry units. Anyway If you think that the only problem here is that I am a totally noob and you are able to perfectly manage your cavalry units, here you have both save games where you can play these battles. If you think that I am wrong and archers are not 5 times better than cavalry units in this game, please show your point.

BTW, Player having 50 Imperial Legionaries/Vlandian Sergeatns also lose this battle. I can provide a video or save game if you want to check it.

EDIT: for clarity.

Last edited:
The AI (and players) should be able to put their infantry in a testudo type formation if it registers large amounts of archers in the enemy army.

Cavalry needs a major rework, it's been a long standing issue in the game that it's extremely hard to hit footmen if you're using a sword/axe/mace while on horse back. The way they fight is also an issue, pretty low damage output when they're constantly running away to charge back in.