[Discussion Area] Redundant Units in the Troop Trees + Noble Branch tier simplification

Users who are viewing this thread

If you want precision, no, a descendant of Balearic slingers tells you.
A slingshot throwing lead bullets easily exceeds the range that arrows thrown from bows can reach. With small projectiles (lead bullets from 400 m onwards). But with half-fist to one fist sized stones (the rocks thrown by looters) I would place the slings (as long as they are finally introduced into the game) between the ranges of the javelins and the bows.

Of course, but what I meant is that in Bannerlord levy bowmen and crossbowmen have little differences between each other, and slingers would be more akin to them (because as you well point out they can achieve better distances than bows) that with Sturgian woodsmen, carrying only those stick javelins.

@Lusitani 5th Empire I have been slinging for many years and I have also fabricated them with esparto grass and pita rope (a local cactus), I have taken the measure by eye I promise ?.

@AJAJP_Juan Something like that wouldn't be bad; you know, between the range of a javelin and an arrow... mainly to give the weapon a role more as a skirmishers than as a ranged one.

This is a great discussion, i absolutely agree that no looter units should ever be allowed to upgrade to noble units, and this thread revealed to me some wondefull mods i honestly haven't been paying attention to (with less to no both time and desire actually playing the Singleplayer).

That made me thinking, perhaps that could change with @HalfMetalJacket @Terco_Viejo and myself potentially merging some of our mods together into 1 single module some time in the future. Troops, combat, camera, collision capsules, freehand shields, uniform colors, banners and colored settlement names, all reworked in a lite Native+ manner ?

+1, kinda like Floris Mod for Wb. Please do it guys.