Nerfed cavalry?

Users who are viewing this thread

Zosete

Regular
Hi there.

First, my congratulations on the effort and work you've put into this mod. It has some nice ideas on it.

Does anybody else feel that cavalry has been downsized/diminished/nerfed? I mean for the player itself.

Each time I try to charge against a single enemy i get sloshed. They either cripple my horse or damage me badly.
The obvious answer to my problems ("you suck, the game & cavalry don't") is only partial. I may not be the best of players, but it shouldn't be this lopsided. I've got a decent armor, level 11 stats, a warhorse and so on. Thankfully, there's eternal refill of arrows in this mod so I can nail a whole enemy army in the long distance, but there's no way I can try mounted combat.

I'm using a balanced sabre: yeah, a short reach for a mounted weapon, but I should be able to land at least one blow on a low-level scum infantry enemy alone on a plain. I'm no newbie in M&B, and had a lot of fun with the old bump&slash system , but right now I'm confined to bows and maybe polearms, or else foot combat.

Is this me? Is this Chronicles? Or is this a general tendency for Mount&Blade 1.xx?  I never found mounted combat so frustrating since the greek mods for 90xx.

Thanks in advance

On a side OT note: the shaky map pseudobug thing http://forums.taleworlds.com/index.php/topic,49773.msg1357979.html#msg1357979 seems to go away on a fresh install. I had that problem at home, but after reinstalling the game at another PC -with similar or even inferior specs- it's working now! Even when you add extra resources, like the banner.brf and the sort.
Anyone can confirm on this, also?

Code:
[tt][tt]
[/tt][/tt]

umm well im doing mounted combat myself, sometimes killing well over 20 troops on my own.
the sabre has very very low reach so you realy have to know EXACLY when to attack or else you will kiss the floor.