Castle Discussion ONLY Topic

Users who are viewing this thread

Not now. But, later, a way to make "damageable objects" could be implemented. I'm not a pro about smashing the walls, I prefer digging under the stone walls and somehow explode its base.

No more ramps, I'd like a way for really functional ladder to work. And there should be lots of them.

Yes, ladders are a must have, no rampways. If the devs are animation reluctant then well....well they shouldnt be!

Perhaps the defenders could double their normal ranged weapons. 48/54 arrows instead of 24/27, 14/16 throwning axes instead of 7/8. That would take the place of larger seige weapons inside the castle.

mfberg

Edward said:
Until the AI causing the soldiers to get stuck on the walls is fixed, would it be possible to change the place where the ramp touchs the wall by removing the crenellations so they wouldn't get stuck? Maybe make it look like a catipult hit there.

Yeah, that would be a perfect fix for now.

Modify the current wall mesh so it looks like it took a hit from a trebuchette or catapult, and knocked some stone loose, thus leaving a nice hole where the top of the wall was.

Then, the ladder/ramp could go in to that hole.

This way, your units won't get stuck in between the crenellations or whatever they are.

Then after you have won the battle, and stationed troops in the castle, you can either have that section be repaired, or keep it there, symbolizing how lazy your troops are.

Navardo said:
On the subject of Castle Income. I would suggest somethings easy to achieve:

1) Anyone of the peasant, farmer, refugee etc class who you station at the castle gets involved in some kind of productivity. (though there's a population cap)
2) Rather than simply generating gold, they could additionally produce a particular trade good such as wheat or dried fish, depending on the local resources, which need to be traded for hard currency.