About making ModLib (or any other mod I guess) a soft-dependency.

Users who are viewing this thread

bm01

Sergeant
Someone asked me how I made ModLib a soft-dependency for my mod, and suggested to me that I should post my explanation somewhere for other people to reference. So here it is. I'm not an expert in programming and C# is quite new to me, so it's likely that my solution is sub-optimal.

This can also apply to MBOptionScreen but I've had issues with it so I would recommend waiting until a stable version is released.

So first of all, we obviously can't have any reference to ModLib in our mod. And since we need to declare a class that inherits from one of ModLib's types (SettingsBase) to pass to SettingsDatabase.Register(), we have to move that class to an external DLL and load it only if ModLib is active. Any access to its methods or properties will have to be done through reflection.

Unfortunately, it means that we cannot use that class to store our actual settings, since it will just be a facade for ModLib to have something to read. So we end up with two settings classes and copying data from one to the other when needed. But more on that later.

So here's what I do. I have my normal settings class that I use throughout my code regardless of whether ModLib is loaded or not. Then I have a ModLibSettingsHandler static class with a Initialize method that I call when my mod is loaded. Inside, I check for ModLib with this bit of code:

C#:
if (AppDomain.CurrentDomain.GetAssemblies().Where(x => x.GetName().Name == "ModLib").FirstOrDefault() == null)
{
  return;
}
if (!Utilities.GetModulesNames().ToList().Contains("ModLib"))
{
  return;
}