Recent content by Zaakjes

1. Zaakjes

Bows and Arrows, animations and sounds

Sorry for the bump-up of an old topic, but I can relate to the problem that the OP describes and if anyone else wants to fix this, I can give a simple solution. Like Hanakoganei says, the missile physics aren't so much different from the Native. My personal biggest problem was the fact that with the new textures, the arrows were barely visible and when you missed a shot, it became hard to judge where the arrow actually landed (to keep in mind for the next shot). So I restored the native arrow texture on all arrows. I'm not a coder, programmer or even any kind of computer nerd, so you can be sure that this is pretty easy to do yourself. This is how I did it:

1. Download and install Notepad++ from https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

2. Copy your Floris Expanded Mod Pack folder.

3. Go to the new Floris Expanded Mod Pack folder, in my own case in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\MountBlade Warband\Modules\Floris Expanded Mod Pack 2.54 - kopie. Find the file item_kinds1.txt in this very folder. Open it in Notepad++.

3. In Notepad++, press ctrl+f for the 'Find' function. Type the word 'flying' in the search field and click 'Find All in Current Document'. What you get is something like this:

arrowtexfix1.jpg

These files with '_flying' at the end are the files that determine what the arrow will look like. So, in Floris each type of arrow actually looks differently in the air. Practice Arrows are referring to we_pla_arrow_flying. Barbed Arrows are referring to we_nor_arrow_barbed_flying.

In Native, however, every type of missile looks the same. If I search for 'flying' in the item_kinds1.txt file of Native, I find out that there's no such thing as we_nor_arrow_barbed_flying references. Every arrow looks the same, namely as flying_missile. See next pic.

arrowtexfix2.jpg