Recent content by Falrinth

1. Falrinth

Youtube claims that NW soundtrack doesnt belong to the game's authors.

MaHuD said:
    Fair use exists in the Polish law and are covered by the Polish copyright law articles 23 to 35.
    Compared to the United States, Polish fair use distinguishes between private and public use. In Poland, when the use is public, its use risks fines. The defendant must also prove that his use was private when accused that it was not, or that other mitigating circumstances apply. Finally, Polish law treats all cases in which private material was made public as a potential copyright infringement, where fair use cannot apply.
    But I do admit, like I said previously, that I am not an expert, infact I am far away from it. But AFAIK, "fair use" has always been shadily used on youtube.

That must be some outdated informations.

Fair use in Poland and in plenty if not most countries doesnt apply only to private or uncommercial use. If so you woudlnt be seeing any reviews at all and public good would vanish totally - the market would be crippled and authors themselfs would struggle to gain any popularity by themselfs. The current law says its fair use when:

1. You use the fragments of the materials to add commentary, review, instructions etc.
    2. The final creation must have added value to the materials (creative effort must have been invested)
    3. the creation doesnt harm the financial interests of the owners of the materials (unless its critique when its neccesary to show example of materials to support it)

Thats basically it :smile:
  2. Falrinth

Thank you Rudovich!

MaHuD said:
    Besides, you are using the music outside the game.
    Which would technicly no longer fall under NW's license.
    Rather it would be YOU who is breaking copyright.  :lol:

No really MaHuD,