Game Design suggestion/discussion: Dungeons, landmarks and player's base camp

Users who are viewing this thread

The Problem:
I've been playing the Mount and Blade series since 2012 and while i've thoroughly enjoyed every title in the series, it always felt like there's something missing from the series. So the other day I spent some time analysing Bannerlord's gameplay mechanics, especially by comparing Bannerlord with other open world games that i also really enjoyed, such as Battlebrother, the witcher 3, dragon's dogma and the elder scrolls series. And then it occurs to me, the problem that i have with Bannerlord is too much time spent in the campaign map, and not enough time for action on the ground.

This issue is particularly prominent in early and mid game where the player is limited to grinding the arena and the looters repeatedly, and even then the player has to spend lots of time on the campaign map trying to dodge larger bands of looters while having a hard time catching up to smaller bands of looters especially now with the reduced movement speed in latest beta branch 1.5.7 update. So for the very early game you're basically restricted to grinding the arena which gets repetitive very quickly, and more importantly from a game design perspective, the arena does not allow you to use weapons or armor that you bought and equipped on your character.

So why's this a problem you say, well it's a problem because Bannerlord has superior graphics and physics engine compared to Warband from 8 years ago, but if you spend the majority of your gameplay on the campaign map then the experience you get out of Bannerlord is essentially no different than what you'd get out of Warband. The campaign map might be filled with beautifully crafted villages and castles but you rarely have a reason to visit these scenes in person. Most of the time you click on the npc you want to talk to from campaign map and when you're done you press tab to exit.

The solution: