[NEED HELP] Does anyone know why using Openbrf to import obj will look like the picture?

Users who are viewing this thread

I imported this model which I made myself from Blender 3.4, but I don't know why part of the surface disappeared after importing it. Since it's my first time to use Openbrf, please help.

Before Import​

Screenshot%202023-07-11%20015641.png
Screenshot%202023-07-11%20011901.png

After Import​

Screenshot%202023-07-11%20011819.png
Screenshot%202023-07-11%20015735.png

Screenshot%202023-07-11%20015802.png

Solution
Have you marked triangulate on export? If you have n-gons, OpenBRF can't import them correctly and can only guess how to triangulate the mesh and will create holes and make mistakes like that.
You need to recalculate your normals, the hollow looking hilt on that sword is because OpenBRF doesn't render back faces to match the game.

You're seeing the inner faces.

Covers how to quickly check face normal directions and how to quickly recalculate them.

Upvote 1
You need to recalculate your normals, the hollow looking hilt on that sword is because OpenBRF doesn't render back faces to match the game.

You're seeing the inner faces.

Covers how to quickly check face normal directions and how to quickly recalculate them.

Thank you for help! So change the directions of face to normal now, but in openbrf is still not showing correctly:
Screenshot%202023-07-12%20140035.png

Upvote 0
Have you marked triangulate on export? If you have n-gons, OpenBRF can't import them correctly and can only guess how to triangulate the mesh and will create holes and make mistakes like that.

Upvote 1
Solution
Looks like z-fighting from duplicate geometry, in Blender's edit mode you can use M (Merge) > By Distance to merge duplicate vertices and faces. Duplicate faces and z-fighting will cause flickering, even if they are uv'd and textured identically, so it's always best to get rid of them.

You also need to UV-map your mesh.