Recent content by Wagrid1616

1. Wagrid1616

Historical Swordsmanship

ares007 said:
    Unfortunately, school and finances have been limiting my ability to practice swordsmanship.

I feel your pain! College doesn't leave me much time to wave a sword about, alas.
  2. Wagrid1616

Historical Swordsmanship

I think I've given the wrong impression of how much I know here: I've actually been at this for over a year now. I'm just out of practice. I used "Fighting with the German Longsword" by Christian Henry Toblar, which adapts Ringeck's system into a more accessible format than the original fechtbuch. I have a messer and I currently have Albion's 'Landgraf' hanging on my wall. So I'm not a complete novice.

That said, I've been reading through your primer as a refresher and I very much like it. It explains things in a very clear manner. One thing I would suggest including pictures demonstrating the five 'master cuts' to make them more clear, however.
  3. Wagrid1616

Historical Swordsmanship

Yeah, they are the parts I find difficult. It doesn't help that I don't have much time to go practice often. Still I'm getting there.

What I find most useful are modern manuals that make the schools of the German masters accessible. The fechtbuchs would be utterly incomprehensible if you didn't know what you were doing.
  4. Wagrid1616

Marriage question

I have freindship in the 40's with half of Calradia based purely on releasing 'honourable' lords after battles.

EDIT: Sorted it! Sent half the lords on a mission to capture Shariz from the Sarranids which gave Count Klargus room to appear.
  5. Wagrid1616

Marriage question

The other lords got there before Count Klargus, he tends to dither about the the field for days then not show up. In 50 in game days of attempts this is the first time I'm got him to actually turn up.

So other lords are taking up space? Ah, I see, thank you! I shall exploit my high friendship to send half of them away.
  6. Wagrid1616