How about a pre battle deployment phase?

Users who are viewing this thread

Dosiere

Recruit
There are really two options I think would just be awesome for Mount and Blade, the first has been discussed before, sorry if the second has as well I didn't find anthing under search.

1) You know that when you initiate hostile contact, you are taken to a dialogue screen where you basically say fight or retreat.  How about either before or after that you have the ability to actually pick your forces.  Rather than just going by the order your troops are listed, you can finally pick individual troops out.  "5 Archers, 5 Footmen, and say 2 companions" and so forth.  It seems to me (i'm not a programmer or anything though) that this would be possible (easy?) to implement into the current game.  Would be nice for sure!

2) An actual in battle deployment phase.  You are taken to the battlefield, and your troops are spawned as well.  However, the enemy is not spawned yet and you only have a small area that you can traverse.  Now, this option would be really cool now that we are getting some formations in the game.  Before this would have been just fluff since everyone just charges anyway - but it would be so nice to be able to mess with the formations out of combat and get your archers set up and such.  I imagine this would take some work but especially if formations continue to improve it would be amazing!

Anyway, what do you think?

(edit) - Posted in the wrong forum!  :oops:  Could someone move it over to suggestions for me?

If you use the search function you will find a great deal of dialog on these suggestions. Use search next time and lend your ideas to an existing thread.

I like the idea! Hand picking troops before a battle and send in cavalry later from another direction maybe? any way this is intresting! Hope you will be able to do this in a mod or in native!

Tactics should affect this then as well - a bit like in the HoMM series in fact.