Search results for query: *

1. Shredzorz

Official 3D art thread - Warband

Slytacular said:
    @shredzorz, that is pretty sexy! What is your art workflow on it? The hatch on the back is a little weird to me. If you want some pretty cool ideas for spacecraft and things generally sci-fi with plausible science and math proof to back some theories up, check out http://www.projectrho.com/public_html/rocket/ (scroll all the way to the bottom to look at the different topics).
    Thanks, and that website is really cool.

I start by modeling a high poly in Blender. I'm not very good at sculpting, so I usually do stuff the old fashioned way unless it's an organic model, which I rarely do. Then, I do the low poly. Depending on the model, that might involve just removing some modifiers from the high poly and deleting some edgeloops, or it might mean redoing the topology from scratch. Once I get it unwrapped and baked, I make a Material ID in Photoshop and import everything into Substance Painter. After I get the materials set up, I add more details like the lines between panels (whatever you call those) and rivets by painting on a height layer. Finally, I render it in Cycles within Blender.
  2. Shredzorz

Ok, here's a reworked version of the high poly. No textures or anything yet.

jpMj9F9.png

I think it has enough of its own identity now, while still looking NASA-ish. I'm still open to suggestions though if anyone has any ideas.
  3. Shredzorz

Yeah, it was pretty heavily inspired by the Dream Chaser. Do you think it's too much, or can I get away with it? :razz:

I wanted it to look like it was sort of from the same family, but you're right, it's probably too close. I'll play around with the shape a little and come back.
  4. Shredzorz

This is going to be one of the main playable ships in the game project I'm working on.

k5njiIA.png

UamK8St.png
  5. Shredzorz