AAR: The Chronicle of Brother Jerome

Users who are viewing this thread

(Update Aug. 28: Incorporating some changes to make things a bit clearer, and some screenshots. )

I've been playing around with modding off and on for a couple years, and decided to test some ideas. It's a great bloody wall of text, and not really necessary to enjoy the narrative of the story -- but some people are interested in that sort of thing, so I've hidden it in the spoiler tag. Long and short of it is that several companions are changed; some entirely, some merely tweaked. The Vaegir are more competent on the battlefield. Vaegir, Nords, and Swadians look a little better due to armour changes.

I've been experimenting with modding off and on for awhile; nothing fancy, just little tweaks. No re-writing of code, but playing around with Companions, fooling around with character generation options, re-texturing items, and even designing something new (with a lot of help). So I took Diplomacy's source code, and ran with it. As an aside, I consider the items in question works in progress. I'm not yet happy with how they appear in game.

I was also toying with the idea of tweaking game play to allow more variety in beginning stats, but restricting long-term advancement and weapon skill development -- I wanted to see if it were possible to create the feel of someone who is a prodigy in one field (physical might, in this case) without destroying game balance. To this end, I started a character with elevated Strength and Power Strike, but with XP accrual slowed (player XP multiplier of 0.1 instead of 2.0 -- and occasionally using character import 'cheat' to reset his XP when advancing too fast). The goal is to keep him within a level or two of his companions. Weapon Master has been kept down to level 2 to keep his weapon skills from growing too fast (in hindsight, I perhaps should have set it at level 1). NPCs were also tweaked here and there; from common soldiers to kings.