What is the purpose of having a Spouse?

Users who are viewing this thread

AngryPanCake

Sergeant
Hello,
I just watched a relatively recent Youtube video listing the best potential spouses in the game. It went on showing how many and what skills they had and said so and so would be the best wife to have if you are Aserai, this one if you are Imperial...etc.

My question is how does a spouse affect your clan/kingdom?

This is what I have found out so far and please correct me or enlighten me as I am relatively new to the game, compared to the ones that have been playing since Warband came out 50 years ago.
So, my thought process was: MC is Imperial and planned to conquer some Sturgian fiefs. He decided to take on a Sturgian spouse to be the governor of the first fief in order to reduce Loyalty penalty since the governor is going to be the same culture as the conquered fief.
So now that she is the governor, what else does the Sturgian spouse bring into the Clan beside reducing the loyalty penalty for that single fief?
Once the MC (Imperial) decide to found his own Kingdom and is asked by his Sturgian spouse about the culture of the said Kingdom and the decision is made to be Imperial as the MC is planning in conquering all of the Empire, what's the benefit of having the Sturgian spouse?

The guy on Youtube was saying even though Rhagea doesn't have as many skills/perks as some of the other nobles, she would be a valuable spouse as she is the Southern Empire's queen. But he did not say how she would be useful.
If you did marry Rhagea and then she dies, do you become the king of the Southern Empire?
If you do marry the daughter of a clan leader who does not have any male heirs and he dies, do you become that clan leader or is it reassigned to another noble from that faction?

Thank you,
APC

From what I have experienced, if you're in a kingdom, and the leader dies, you're going to be voted leader, no matter who you're married to.