[WB][M] Ballista

Currently viewing this thread:

Status
Not open for further replies.

HomerJay

Master Knight
Hello, I'm developer of the Mercenaries mod (www.mbmerc.com). Now I'm trying to implement a small deployable ballista/great crossbow. The code is almost ready but I'm not an artist and I can't create a good mesh and texture. That's why I'm asking you to make the resources. Mercenaries is an open-source project so everything will be available for the community. If you're interested, please look the details.

Video: http://youtu.be/A62J4Ls3Mgs

A ballista consists of 5 scene props:
ballista_base - static
ballista_middle_part - rotates around Z (vertical axis)
ballista_upper_part and ballista_upper_part_ready - controlled by a camera
ballista_winch - rotates around X
m_ballista_small.png

It should be a medieval ballista, not a roman scorpion. It could be something like this (source):
great_crossbow.jpg

Triangle limit: 2000
Texture size: 1024+

Beobart

Baron
I can do a model for this project if i may, not sure if i can do that today but i would do that this week.

Patta

Sergeant Knight at Arms
Are you going to make the script open source by any chance? I was planning something like this too :wink:

Patta

Sergeant Knight at Arms
Well, sry, I stopped reading after "mercenaries is...", because I though he would give a mod description there and I know the mod already. I never knew that it was completely open source, though. Has been some time since I played.

xenoargh

Grandmaster Knight
You just need this skinned, correct? 

If yeah... I could see trading time doing that nicely for having the code nicely packed up for OSP;  I think a lot of people could use this. 

Big question: can bots use it?

Sahran

Grandmaster Knight