SP Dark Ages [VC] [Submod] Viking Conquest: Shieldmaiden Edition (in development)

Users who are viewing this thread

Fearg

Recruit
REQUIRES: Viking Conquest DLC

Viking Conquest Reforged Edition is pretty badass, props to the devs for making the Brytenwalda-inspired gameplay more accessible. Nothing beats traversing the high seas in your fully manned warship bristling with haggard warriors lusting for fame and fortune. However, with just 3 female companions, its a bit lacking for female gamers like myself who want to suspend disbelief\stretch the limits of historical accuracy and go to war with an all-female band of wailing pirates baying for the blood of their enemies.

I'm very new to modding, and think it'll be a fun experience, though with a steep learning curve that may at times result in me mashing my face against the keyboard in frustration!

I was originally going to make this my own private submod, but hopefully its something that others will want to get behind and support

My goals for this mod:

12 new female warrior companions, 2 from each ethnicity (Irish, Picts, Britons, Angles, Saxons, Norse) each with her own unique backstory and character.

Angles

Hereswitha

Æthelthryth (lordly)

Saxons

Frideswide

Ælfgifu (lordly)

Britons

Eurwyn (lordly)
Gwlithen

Norse

Thorhild (lordly)
Ragnhild (lordly)

Irish

Aoife
Eimear (lordly)

Pictish

Ligach (lordly)
Nadbroicc

Shieldmaidens will deal with you different depending on your player gender (unique dialogue trees). They probably won't get on well with the collection of sexist jerks, creeps and bible-thumpers that make up the male companions. That doesn't mean they all necessarily like each other either.

Many of the shieldmaidens are already mighty warriors will come with far superior armour and stats to the native VC companions, however there'll be a high initial recruitment cost to offset\balance this. Some of them will be weaker but skilled in other ways.