Siege attackers NEVER use ranged weaponry??

Users who are viewing this thread

Seriously, this is game breaking. Yeah Shields are useful but **** sake, archers should shoot not charge in melee... In fact, most mods if not all and certainly native has actual useful attacking archers. Not this... Is there a fix or did the developers seriously think this was remotely OK gameplay let alone realistic?

Sorry I didn't me Rion that I was a freelancer therefore I couldn't controll the AI. In fact, due to this every enemy which I obviously can't control will never use ranged weapons making it super easy and boring. I had to abandon mod damn it.

Giving the open fire command does nothing for me. Neither my allies nor my own archer are shooting.
I'm using an altered version of the mod that could be the cause I suppose. Maybe brainy bots scripting?

Nevermind, I overlooked a fix for this issue.

Edit: A fix that doesn't work,  :lol:.  I guess it's just broken for good. Perhaps someone sometime finds the fault in the source code.

Yeah, been having the same problem for almost a year now. Not just here, but 4 other different versions as well (seeing how they're all based on 1.13)

Anyway, since the source code is out maybe it's now possible to look into which script forces the AI to use melee at the beginning of attacking sieges?

A year? :razz: This problem has been accompanying us for as long as I can remember playing this mod. Take a look at my thread from 2015, where I showcase a siege defense against 1700 troops with exactly 5(!) losses on my side because of this nonsense. I pointed this out several more times over the course of months/years and then gave up on it, cause it became obvious that there were no plans to fix this. Which made me shelf this mod lately, cause constantly shotting fish in a barrel gets old at some point unfortunately.