B Tutorial Shader Shaders 101

Users who are viewing this thread

Shaders 101
Helping your mod stand apart
For Warband, VC and NW.
WIP

I am not an expert on shaders, I only recently learned hlsl and am in no way qualified to teach anyone anything about this. That being said, I am still going to try. If you are a technical artist and can pitch in to help round out this tutorial, I encourage you to pitch in.
If you would like a tutorial from an actual expert and programmer, and not some idiot, click here.

First: You must download The Warband Shader Kit from Taleworlds. This will include everything you need to make your own shader.
Second: Follow Swyters Compiler Tweaks. This will speed things up and make for a nicer, more fluid experience.
Third: Find an editor you like, I use Notepad++ with the language set to C. I've also had good experiences in VSCode.

A shader is actually made of three parts, a Vertex Shader, Pixel Shader and Technique. We will also declare the struct for the Vertex Shader Output ourselves, mostly for completionists' sake, but it is generally not necessary. However with more advanced shaders that need to pass along unique information it will be.

Scroll to the bottom of the file and define your VS struct
C-like:
struct VS_OUTPUT_FIRST_SHADER // Defining the structure for the vertex shader as well as any variables being passed through to the Pixel Shader
{
    float4 Pos           : POSITION;    // Vertex Position, Local to Mesh
    float2 Tex0             : TEXCOORD0;    // Texture Coordinates form Mesh
    float4 Color         : COLOR0;        // Vertex Coloring

float  Fog           : FOG;            // Pixel Shader Fog
};

C-like:
// Read as: OUTPUT_STRUCTURE vs_shader_name(values inputted from the engine)
VS_OUTPUT_FIRST_SHADER vs_my_first_shader(float4 vPosition : POSITION, float4 vColor : COLOR, float2 tc : TEXCOORD0)
{
    VS_OUTPUT_FIRST_SHADER Out;                           // Out is just naming the Output Varaibles