Rise and Fall of the Longsword as a Battlefield Weapon.

Users who are viewing this thread

Coy

Knight
A good friend of mine wrote up a fairly comprehensive essay on the battlefield application of the longsword. I thought you all might be interested.

The rise and fall of the longsword as a battlefield weapon 1333-1450 (Give or take!)
By Richard Marsden

I will first and foremost say that I am not a professional historian. While I teach history for a living and hold an MA in land warfare, I don't have any history books under my belt-just fiction! Many WMA folk produce far finer quality work than I ever will. The only primary documents I spend much time with are books on swordplay throughout the ages. Thus the theory I am working on is derived from a collection of mostly secondary sources with my primary texts being instructional fight-books. Additionally, my sources revolve around the use of weaponry in Britain, France, Italy, but lack in some German developments and is sadly devoid when it comes to the longswords' history in Eastern Europe. Time and research by myself and the WMA community will rectify this and either lend to my proposal or alter it. Specific challenges would need to be addressed in the first use of the longsword as a primary battlefield tool (IE historians referencing its use or actual text doing the same in a battle) and its decline (IE- the same). Counters are welcome to the proposal and I'll probably not comment right away as I gather input, material and so on. I believe terminology will be a contentious point, but we'll try and work ahead despite it. My end goal is to add this to my website and perhaps peddle off the final product to one of the magazines I'm occasionally accepted into, or to 'can/alter' the proposal should enough evidence indicate that's the best course of action.

Proposal