My findings, bugs and suggestions.

Users who are viewing this thread

Just had a 15-30 minute play. Took some pen and paper with me, but I'll just start with my findings/notes/bugs/ideas so far:

As I'm a student game development, I have studied psychology and gameplay strategies regarding game development, so I will add some non-bug suggestions as well. :smile: I'll list them seperately for ease.

General ideas on graphics/gameplay

* From the moment you start the game, you kinda get a negative feeling when it comes to the colours of the map. It was early morning for me and the grass just generally looks very dark. Everything does, actually. Even at noon. The light on the map should be intensified a bit -- colour does a lot of subconscious things to the mind of a player.

* In a similar way as the above, in my first battle, the starting skybox (in my case) was a very darkish, cloudy skybox. The battle just gave me an overal negative feeling. It's not particularly a bad thing, but the first 15 minutes of a game (as with a movie) are absolutely crucial. My suggestion here would be to force the first skybox/weather state to be a sunny one. It will generally improve the feeling of the start game. (even only slightly)

* The intro has been said to be quite random/not thought out (you just get thrown into the map). I'm not sure if this is something that will be worked on still, but if anything, I'd let the player start somewhere on the shore (maybe next to a boat) or at the edge of the map, hinting that he did come from somewhere that was not within the map.

Logic errors

* The traveller in taverns will allow you the "I am looking for one of my companions" dialog option, even if you have none. A companion count > 0 condition would do well here.

* Probably just a typo, but the minstril in taverns says "Dinars" at one point in his dialog. It should be denars, no?

* You can enter castles, even if there is no lord or lady present. (Not really logical)

Bugs: