Module system license

Users who are viewing this thread

Rongar

Master Knight
I noticed (not that recently) several mods on googlecode.
They usually are under gnu gpl v3.
And I started to wonder which license (if any) can be legally applied to open source projects based on Module system.
Is module system in public domain or what?

That's an interesting question. Taleworlds released the MS themselves, available to public and unconstrained by any kind of license, so I'd say that formally it is public domain. They however did forbid certain actions with MS (like reverse-porting features from Warband to M&B) which definitely puts it's PD status under a big question mark. So it would still be better to ask them directly.

As for licenses for mod projects, well, if the base material is freeware, then AFAIK modification of the base material could be declared pretty much anything by the author. Notice the bold. :smile:

I'm no lawyer though.

Lav said:
Taleworlds released the MS themselves, available to public and unconstrained by any kind of license, so I'd say that formally it is public domain. They however did forbid certain actions with MS (like reverse-porting features from Warband to M&B) which definitely puts it's PD status under a big question mark.
Lav, could you point on sources of both statements?

Lav said:
So it would still be better to ask them directly.
That's of course right. I'll do it late if don't find out somehow else.

Thats a very interesting question, maybe a dev could help, if anyone gets any info can you post it back here as i'll be intrigued by what they say :wink:.

Wolf.