SP Tutorial World Map Mapping (with Thorgrim's Map Editor)

Users who are viewing this thread

Version 1.2

Hi folks,

This tutorial is the reference guide of my understanding of maps in MB Warband and how to mod them using Thorgrim's Map Editor (TME) and imported hieghtmap and ground-types map. This is not really for absolute newbies though and often it's more or less just hints on what to do (or not) and how rather than step-by-step walkthrough.

DISCLAIMER: I am 100% sure I have missed some things or made some errors. Don't shoot me for it. :smile: Instead, help me improve it please!

Tools used:
- Thorgrim's Map Editor 0.90: http://forums.taleworlds.com/index.php/topic,5646.0.html
Famous and except for 3D converter the only mapping tool out there currently.

- Gimp: http://www.gimp.org/
Free graphic manipulation software.

Data
- SRTM-30 data: http://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM30/ (reference map of tiles: http://www.dgadv.com/srtm30/)
- CIA World DataBank II: http://www.evl.uic.edu/pape/data/WDB/
- geography map: not yet re-found

These are the raw data I found and used for generating heightmap, ground types map and rivers. This tutorial does NOT cover how to create maps for import from these. It covers only parametres and hints about what standard they should comply to.

1) Thorgrim's Map Editor - basics
From what I have learnt so far I can say only one word: DOCUMENTATION. Or rather lack of one. This section is to remedy this:

- Install it wherever you want. When you run it (provided it loaded successfully) it will say version 0.8.5 which is apparently correct despite the installer claiming it being version 0.9.0

- You have to load valid MB module via config. It does not work for Warband modules (we will come to that later).

- settings.cfg is a crucial file and requires more in-depth explanation of some options than is provided in comments: