Making use of XSLT to add an attribute

Users who are viewing this thread

Hello!
I'm a newbie modder making use of XSLT to modify some files, more specifically the description of some towns and villages. The following lines are an example of how I successfully replaced a description of a village.

XML:
<xsl:stylesheet version="1.0" xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">
    <xsl:output omit-xml-declaration="yes"/>
    <xsl:template match="@*|node()">
        <xsl:copy>
            <xsl:apply-templates select="@*|node()"/>
        </xsl:copy>
    </xsl:template>

<xsl:template match='Settlement[@id="castle_village_S3_1"]/@text'>
        <xsl:attribute name='text'>NEW DESCRIPTION</xsl:attribute>

</xsl:stylesheet>

The problem I have is when a town, village or castle is lacking a text description attribute in the first place. Then those lines don't work. I know you can add such attributes by using a normal xml file, but I'd much rather prefer if I could do it in the xslt file. Since I'm a newbie modder with no programing background, I rely on looking at how other mods make stuff work, but in this case I've not found any examples. Could anyone help me formulate what those lines should look like for this to work? Would be much appreciated!

Solution
Hello again. I can now proudly say that after many trial and errors, I've found the solution myself! In my eyes as a newbie modder, I think it could be valuable to know, so I'll post it here as documentation for anyone else having the same question.
XML:

<xsl:template match='Settlement[@id="castle_village_S3_1"]'>
            <xsl:apply-templates select="@*"/>
            <xsl:attribute name="text">NEW DESCRIPTION</xsl:attribute>...
Hello again. I can now proudly say that after many trial and errors, I've found the solution myself! In my eyes as a newbie modder, I think it could be valuable to know, so I'll post it here as documentation for anyone else having the same question.
XML: