Item distribution and multiple meshes

Users who are viewing this thread

kapusta_nz

Recruit
I've been working on an equipment mod with a friend for about three months now and we have been carefully selecting all the best items we could find. Basically all the items we consider realistic and well-made are being added, but that's not particularly important. The problem is, we are now at the item limit (915 IIRC) and since I don't know of a way to get around it (searched these forums, but noone seems to have a fix), I've turned to using multiple meshes for a single item in the item_kinds file. Now, after reading a few topics I understand how you can make an item use more than one model depending on its imodbits modifiers. However, after some experimentation, I found that it didn't work for AI-controlled units. Basically if one item has several meshes associated with it  (for example one helmet with 4 different models, so one model for a rusty helmet, another model for a reinforced one, etc), you will see those different meshes in the shops and will be able to buy them, but the AI units will still only be given the first one in the list. Could anyone confirm this, or am I doing something wrong here?

Another question: how exactly does the item distribution algorithm work when a unit is first generated? It is most certainly not fair and does not distribute equipment randomly, as I've found from a few tests. The price of an item seems to have an effect, as more expensive items are selected more often.

I am also curious to know if anyone has a tip to assign "imodbits" items to troops. Have you found something? Or anybody has a suggestion?

Well, that was a pretty old post. But troop_add_item contains an additional parameter, so you could do the following:
Code:
(troop_remove_item, "trp_swadian_knight", "itm_great_lance"),
(troop_add_item, "trp_swadian_knight", "itm_great_lance", imod_masterwork),