How to remove modifications

Currently viewing this thread:

Status
Not open for further replies.

MArdA TaleWorlds

Community Support & Localization
Community Support
M&BWBWF&SNWVC
There are two ways of deleting a modification. The first one is simple and faster but the second one is making sure it is completely removed from the game files but takes significantly more time.

The first way is deleting the files directly from the games directory.
To delete a modification, navigate through the games installation folder and locate the Modules folder. Among the contents of that folder, there are 5 official folders that should not be deleted. If you delete them the game might fail to launch or will be prone to crashing. These are, CustomBattle, Native, SandBox, SandBoxCore and StoryMode modules. You can delete any other folder inside this folder.

After this step please verify the game files through Steam so that we can be sure that the game files are good to go.

The second way is performing a clean install. The clean install is removing every single game-related file from your computer and installing the game again. Why do you need to remove the game while you just want to remove the modifications? Unfortunately, some of the modifications do not just add a new modules folder but also change or adds contents to the existent modules folder. Without a reinstall, we can't be sure those files are unchanged.

To perform a Clean Install, Uninstall the game. You can do that by right-clicking the game on Steam Library and selecting Delete Local Content. Delete all folders related to the game that remains after the uninstallation. The folders that might have files inside:
Steam: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Mount & Blade II Bannerlord
Epic: C:\Program Files\Epic Games\Mount & Blade II Bannerlord
C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Mount and Blade II Bannerlord
C:\ProgramData\Mount and Blade II Bannerlord

Note: You'll need to allow Windows to display hidden folders and files to see the ProgramData folder and its contents.
At this stage, everything related to the game on your computer is deleted. Now you can re-install the game.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom