Good Laptops?

Users who are viewing this thread

Corndawg

Grandmaster Knight
So I have this friend that I met on the cruise I took not long ago, and he's trying to find a good laptop. I'm not good at finding laptops tailored for any purpose, be it specific or general, but I know you guys are pretty damn good. I asked him a few questions and this is what he told me.

My budget is fairly open. I don't want to spend any unnecessary money. And the purpose of the laptop is pretty much anything from school, to internet, to media.

So he has an open budget and needs a decent all-around laptop, suggestions?

Never buy dell.

dont_buy_dell_tshirt-p23539549639828013223osk_152.jpg

Why is that? Everybody I know that has used them has never had a problem with them, and I'm asssuming that his friend didn't want anything with too much flair.

Trevty1066 said:
MacBook Pro.  Boot Camp.
Friends don't let friends buy Mac unless their friends are pretentious artsy hipsters.

Revilo said:
Why is that? Everybody I know that has used them has never had a problem with them, and I'm asssuming that his friend didn't want anything with too much flair.
Proprietary drivers? That's one thing wrong with the 3 dells we own.

Trevty1066 said:
Pierce Elliot said:
Trevty1066 said:
MacBook Pro.  Boot Camp.
Friends don't let friends buy Mac unless their friends are pretentious artsy hipsters.

Or they're actually people who want a Mac for it's superiorities over Windows but still want Window's gaming and apps.

Or if you don't want Mac's "Superior" Apple script and want to play games then you buy Windows. Apples script might be hard to break and is extremely stable however it's still an inefficient way to run applications. However all the benefits of Apple Script and Windows Gaming would be found on Linux, not Mac.

EDIT: Actually Gaming was never mentioned. So if you wanted a computer for Media, almost any computer would work.