Game of Thrones - HBO TV series based on 'A Song of Ice and Fire'

Users who are viewing this thread

'A song of Ice and Fire' is often mentioned on this forum, but I've never read any of the books.
Anybody seen the new TV series 'Game of Thrones?
Info and trailer: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0944947/ (you must log in - due to partial nudity - to watch trailer).

Seems to have a relatively big budget. 1st episode - 1 hour - was shown on Sky Channel Monday.
Jean Bean as Lord Eddard
Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister (unknown actor, who had the leading role in 'New Amsterdam', a series that only went one season)
Lena Headey as Cersei Lannister.

I'm new to the whole Westeros world, so it was a bit confusing. But not bad. Could be an interesting story later on.

I saw the first episode, am looking forward to the second episode. I am sure the book is much better (I have been advised to read it but never got around to it) but I found the series episiode 1 highly entertaining. Although I feel perhaps that the visuals outside of wintefell (that tribal area) could have used a bit of a makeover but never the less. The winter constumes and setting was pretty sweet.

I would prefer we keep the TV series discussion separate from the book series discussion. Otherwise, newcomers who have started out on the TV adaptation won't have to worry quite as much about sifting through spoilers for later books. And, those folks who don't give a rats ass about the TV series can focus on worrying over author mortality.

Wellenbrecher said:
For some... strange reason I keep hoping for
Joffrey
to die in the first book already and thus in this season as well.
First scene and I hated that bastard at once.

Good casting right there I'd say.

For the record, I've read the books more than once and I know it's not going to happen. Unfortunately.