CPU upgrade

Users who are viewing this thread

Hey what the hell I thought I'd ask what others opinions are about a CPU upgrade. First here are my system specs:
  • Phenom II x4 945
  • Asus M5A97 R.2 motherboard
  • 8 Gb DDR3-1333 RAM
  • MSI HD Radeon 7850
  • Antec 550 watt PSU Basiq
  • Win7 64 bit OS

I want to keep the price well below $200. Lowest price = better

The FX-8350 looks like a good CPU for an upgrade. My concern is that it has a high TDP: 125 watts which means it will run hot.
I have a cooler-master TX3 HS&F with two 92mm fans so I think I am good in that department.

I am waiting for the price to drop as of now it fluctuates between 159 and 169 $'s. Around Dec. 2015 I think it dropped to around $145, I should have gotten it then.

The FX-8320 costs around $161 right now but, Ive seen it at around $139 on Newegg. The difference is .5 Ghz slower clock speed

Im not sure how much of a performance drop the 8320 compared to the 8350 there is or if there really is one. I am not an overclocker so that is out of the equation as far as preference.

So does any one have a similar set up? Let me know what you like / dislike about your 8350 or 8320.
Also, I am in no rush. I can wait. I'm just hoping for the prices to dip again.

I wouldn't pay more than an extra 10% of the 8320 price for the 8350., because that's about the effective difference. Prices are indeed fluctuating a lot, but AMD won't have new CPUs until 2017, so I doubt there will be major changes.

What games / applications do you use? Does your current CPU limit you, yet?
I'm asking because it's not a very good moment to upgrade to another AMD CPU, because AMD's FX line is already pretty old and not very efficient gaming-wise. AMD's new 'Zen' processors will probably (hopefully) be released towards the end of this year, but they will need a new socket.