Bow or Crossbow for PC?

Users who are viewing this thread

Wondering which is stronger for a PC, or more specifically, how much strength/power draw would I need to invest in to make a bow a better choice?

Right now a hunting crossbow with steel bolts does a lot more damage than a bow, and is still usable on horseback. Of course it's slower, but is also easier to use/aim with.

With them doing cutting instead of piercing I'm wondering if it's worth going the bow route, or if I'll just end up being useless once I start facing more heavily armored enemies(started with no allegiance so just dealing with outlaws currently).

And since I'm new to this mod, any general suggestions are welcome too, coming from mainly playing Floris.

Crossbows may give you a small advantage in the beginnigng, but after the that it's only
the bow that counts.After you hit 3 to 5 proficiency with the bow you'll be able to take down
even armored opponents.And with 150 you hit way faster than crossbows.
The only drawback is that crossbows weren't used by knights so i prefer tha crossbows.

sifis172 said:
Crossbows may give you a small advantage in the beginnigng, but after the that it's only
the bow that counts.After you hit 3 to 5 proficiency with the bow you'll be able to take down
even armored opponents.And with 150 you hit way faster than crossbows.
The only drawback is that crossbows weren't used by knights so i prefer tha crossbows.

Proficiency?

There's power draw, then weapon skill, is proficiency a 1257 specific thing?

Glad to hear the bow is good though, already dropped points in power draw and was hoping it wasn't a waste.

Proficiency?

Glad to hear the bow is good though, already dropped points in power draw and was hoping it wasn't a waste

Yes i meant power draw :oops: :oops:

sifis172 said:
Proficiency?

Glad to hear the bow is good though, already dropped points in power draw and was hoping it wasn't a waste

Yes i meant power draw :oops: :oops:

Ah no worries.