Autoresolve mechanics

Users who are viewing this thread

HUtH

Sergeant Knight at Arms
Hello

Q: What is the mechanism behind the autoresolve feature in PoP? Only units' levels or other stats/modifiers too?

Recently have I started playing again, pure non-modded PoP 3.611, I created my new awesome female char 'Daenerys of Pendor'. 6 STR 7 AGI and rest into INT and CHA, she's too noble and wise for fighting and gettng her hands dirty. Her men(and some women) will do the job, while she can sunbathe. And - wow - campaign goes much faster, though I don't know if I ever beat 15 lvl without chopping enemy knights... but why bother, she's a mother of dragons!(and failing in every ambush, why there's no bodyguards feature in PoP? :razz:)

It's been designed that you should only need common sense to get an idea of how the battle would play out.  Although it may not seem like it at times, but this is because it doesn't calculate how well you control your troops for best effect.  Sort of a 'man to man' calculation.

shoshuro said:
Levels, skills, proficiencies, items, terrain and in general many many things.
Is it that complicated? Somehow I doubt it... :razz: Terrain? Really?
Also use Quick Questions Thread for those type of stuff :smile:
This is not a quick question :razz:

@MickDick
I'd like to know if I need to upgrade my units to different types, does proportion of these types matter, how ranged and heavy cav are counted etc. It's hard to tell from normal gameplay what are the modifiers.