Advice in Melee Combat when swarmed

Users who are viewing this thread

janjanxtreme

Sergeant
Soo... I am currently using a shield and a one handed weapon...

And I need advices when I am swarmed with 2 to ?? units...
I know chamberblocking and stuff but when I try to chamberblock an attack I get hit by the other dude before I hit the one I chambeblocked...

PS : I am LVL 8 at athletics but they seem to run faster than me o.o

EEEDDDDIIIIIIIIIIT !!!!!!!! :  SORRY SORRY DOUBLE POST :sad:      Pls delete this post.

I am by no means an expert (tend to play on easier difficulties as far as damage goes) but as a vet of many arena fights I know the feeling of having every fighter turn at you at the same time and start running.  Personally I try to backpedal in a way that enemies will start to have their swings clip into each other (sort of a zig zag backwards jog).  It doesn't always work (especially if they are sporting a variety of weapon lengths) but if done right you can usually finish one person off while the others are clogged up behind.  I alwys feel bad for the last guys though.  I've been running away from him and his buddies for 100 yards and then all of a sudden he's by himself and being charged by a crazy man! :twisted:

Don't try to chamberblock. It's a good trick to master in dueling and ****, but if you're being swarmed just run backwards so that you're fighting the least amount of enemies possible.

I don't think there exist an answer for this problem.  You can try to run backwards, but until you fight half naked and have good athletics, they will catch up with you.  It is a viable strategy for lightly armored runners, but works much worse if they can outrun your character easily.