Add more people in towns?

Users who are viewing this thread

Mysterius

Regular
Hello,

I was messing around with the scene editor ingame and i tried to figure out how to add more townsfolk and guards than currently possible. I find the towns empty and i would like to add life in them!

I searched on the forum here and there, found some references about things in module_troops and module_mission_templates but, as i'm a complete noob, i don't really understand everything in those files.

Does someone have a simple way to do that? Well, if there is a simple way  :razz:.

Thanks!

Just things you have to do;
-Get module system
-Open module_constants.py
-Find "#Walker types:"line
-In there "num_town_walkers = 20"
-Change the number whatever u want...
-Load module system to your module
-Run M&B
,but give it a try...

Nope it doesn't work. I don't think it is that straightforward.
You have to place entrypoints to spawn NPC's in town. And i guess i would need to "add" new entry points with new townsfolk attached to them. But i have no clue how to do that :sad:.

Seriously, entry points... what a damn system  ^^

have you any more details about that?
I took a look at the mission_templates file but it's quite a mess. I'm new to this and really want to add some townwalkers...

thanks

It's fairly easy to script this.

First part:  getting more people into the towns.  This part's easy- a one line change.  Find script_init_town_walkers in module_scripts.

Remove the line that reads:  (set_visitor, ":entry_no", ":walker_troop_id"), and replace it with this:  (set_visitors,":entry_no", ":walker_troop_id",5),

Here's an example, if you're confused.

Code:
          # script_init_town_walkers
          # Input: none
          # Output: none
          ("init_town_walkers",
            [
              (try_begin),
                (eq, "$town_nighttime", 0),
                (try_for_range, ":walker_no", 0, num_town_walkers),