Search results for query: *

1. mat2rivs

Some findings of ParticleSystem

Nice, I'll check it out.

Edit:
    Thanks for posting that code! I'm still new to C# and found reading the code enjoyable. I also learned how to properly run code in missions.
  2. mat2rivs

Some findings of ParticleSystem

The main problem is still the exposed API doesn't return the reference of the ParticleSystem generated on an agent.
    I can make the hit target burns when he gets shot, but I can't make the fire go away after a few seconds, it will always be on the agent.
    I'm not positive on this, but it appears that when the attribute "emit_at_once"
    XML:
        <effect name="psys_game_burning_agent" guid="{42E394C5-21D5-409B-872C-DB082E417FE6}" sound_code="event:/mission/ambient/detail/fire/fire_small">
            <emitters>
                <emitter name="Emitter" _index_="0">
                    <flags>
                        <flag name="emit_while_moving" value="false"/>
                        <flag name="dont_emit_while_moving" value="true"/>
                        <flag name="emit_at_once" value="false"/>
    is set to false, the particle emitter will constantly emit the particles (ie. the particle system exists until the end of the mission). This seems to be the case for all the 'fire' type particle systems in 'particle_systems2.xml' including "psys_game_burning_agent" which you are using. When that attribute is set to true, and you call the system using the Mission method:
    C#:
    public void AddParticleSystemBurstByName(string particleSystem, MatrixFrame frame, bool synchThroughNetwork);
    Then it will only emit once.

So, it seems like two things need to happen:
    1. Create a new fire particle system that has the 'emit_at_once' attribute set to true. (I couldn't seem to make new particle systems or override exiting ones, but I may have been making a mistake.)