Trying to Understand the Modelling Process

Users who are viewing this thread

poo

Regular
Hello.I am a complete novice to modelling.I have read some tutorials from the forums.I think I have a general Idea of how to model.

-Make Item in Blender/Wings 3D
-UV map the object (break it into a few pieces kinda like a blueprint)
-Texture those blueprint pieces by adding colour to them save as dds file
-bumpmap? normal? specular?
-take the obj mesh put it into openbrf import dds texture and material?
-convert into brf and put in resource folder
-put textures and dds into texture folder
-add the item in module system aswell as put the load texture in module.ini

But what is a Rigged item? How do I rig a item( Body Armour) I think its scaling a object to fit the warband skeleton.
What is a material? Is a material just the texture? It has shader diffuse A diffuse B bump and specular.Is it just the texture with those different options?

I plan on taking some opensource free to use models from the internet and implementing them.Some of them can be pre rigged?Anyway,lets say I use Blender.I download a model of a man.What I download is the obj file and mtl file (apparently this is to apply the colours to the model) aswell as the textures (in this case its in the form of 2 jpegs).So since I dont have to model anything I want to make the process easier.I convert the 2 jpegs(textures) into DDS with an online tool.Is there a way to UV MAP my model with the mtl file?Its not that I am too lazy to do it myself I just want to know my options as my understanding of the modelling process is not entirely clear.

Solution
Hey poo, it's good to see that you're still around trying to learn!
I'm not a great artist, and so would recommend you defer to literally anyone else, but I can guide you into learning the process and getting it working

So you're not too far off here, I'm going to rephrase and expand a few things...