1.5 Combat Adjustment Review

Users who are viewing this thread

Hello Taleworlds,

I am reviewing the 1.5 beta branch combat as I feel my input would be necessary. I am absolutely in full support of these new changes, the combat feels far smoother than ever before, I have been participating in the beta since October 2019 and I can firmly say this is much better. I am so happy that the speed of footing as been reduced before people were able to back peddle and circle around you way too easily and forced me to have to always maneuver my mouse to face them directly, now that they cannot evade me as easily the combat flows so much better and is far more satisfying, the preparation of attack is much quicker and although the swings are slower the combat still feels far more fast paced, I am absolutely satisfied with this patch and I would like to thank the TaleWorlds staff for the patience and time put into this project. You have truly created something that will emulate the renowned beloved previous title.

I’ve gone back and forth with Fietta and a few others regarding character speed, but I feel Taleworlds found a very good compromise that leaves both parties happy. They buffed the maximum speed of each class while nerfing the quick twitch directional changes.

If the combat felt like this when the game first released, there would be thousands playing currently. The player experience has never been better.

I tried it a while ago and the change is very positive. I think the system is close to being approved; I would like to mitigate the delay effect on blocking even more. That said, defending yourself in a 1 vs 3 is starting to be interesting.
I'm not a pro player by any means, but as far as the "meleé" section is concerned, it' s just a matter of adjusting the animations and reducing the blocking delay to the minimum as possible.