Who are the 'barbarians' that these Mycenaean warriors are fighting in this artwork?

Users who are viewing this thread

Manofthemoon

Recruit
d9c24a1335f5c4261dfb30dc926b42cd.png

Apologies for the awkward format of this post. This is my very first attempt at submitting to this forum, and I'm not very savvy with constructing these threads. Anyways, what are the likely identities of the "barbarians" that these Mycenaean warriors are fighting in this artwork?

This artwork comes Osprey Publshing's "The Mycenaeans c.1650–1100 BC". Artist is Angus McBride.

Here is a link to the book:

I know I am a month too late, but still...
Anyway, if we want to be historically accurate, "barbarians" is a bit of a fantasy term, or at least, not really relevant to the time and place. "Barbarians" were regarded by Greeks of the Classical and later eras all the people that didn't speak Greek, because the Greeks (very politically incorrectly :razz: ) heard every language foreign to them as barking of "bar-bar-bar" sounds. Now, during the Mycenean era, the Greek alphabet wasn't even thought of, so I don't think barbarians were a thing. Specifically, in the region of Pylos, before the descending of the Dorians, the only people leaving there were indigenous Mycenean and proto-Greeks. Basically, quite kindred people, in ethnicity. Some were organised in 'kingdoms', some in 'tribes'. So, in this image, the warriors depicted are basically the same thing, just some belong to an organized kingdom, some not.

I know I am a month too late, but still...