AI Lords literally never surrender. Why?

Users who are viewing this thread

Because they know they can take you.

Honestly, even the surrender that does exist is weird. If you were trying to intimidate the lone survivor of a caravan into surrendering, whether you had 50 troops or 200, they'd still have the same chances of saying "nah, you can take this over my dead body".

Indeed. There are problems in the game which are easily solvable (like armor), then there is this, bad AI, on the campaign map and on the battlefield. It is as if there are very primitive and strict rules for behavior, and personality and relations of the agents do count for nothing. Couldn't there be variants and at least a random generator, "if trait A + relation B, y chance to do variant1 (fight), x chance to do variant2 (surrender), z chance to do variant3 (bribe).", or so?

I'm no programmer and don't know how difficult or elaborate that would be. But the bad AI is the most prominent reason for me to feel bad in the game.

There is too much "radar" visibility in the game. Everyone knows about everyone dozens of miles away. In real life, such encounters would be rare if not at all. It is rather ridiculous that my actual warband of 150+ is chasing and is able to catch group of 20 sea riders 😄

I, as player, should have option to set up a camp with my 150+ warband and send/lead small detachment of cavalry to patrol and hunt for such tiny groups. It would be also more believable/convenient to train my companions. Bandit hideout raids are fine with me as concept, but they need more randomness, new locations and at least some basic fortifications so I can train my engineering with using ladders and simple hand held ram or balista to break thru a wooden palisade. Or use fire to burn them out 😄

At some point I think I made the suggestion that you could have the option that by outnumbering him you could make a truce with that person. For X amount of days that noble cannot fight offensively