MP The state of Captain Mode

Users who are viewing this thread

Hello Taleworlds and Community,

TL;DR:
More time between rounds. Fix ranged combat so "skirmishing" is viable. Make Captain’s Mode maps bigger and more open. I love the singleplayer game though.

About me:

My name is Mikkel Andersen. I am a 26 year-old, business engineering student. My passion has always been gaming ever since I was 10 and someone showed me Flash games on the internet. Since then my passion has grown, and I have come to love almost all genres of video games.

Why I am writing this:

I have had extensive experience playing (and enjoying) Taleworlds games (mostly Mount and Blade: Warband and Mount and Blade: Bannerlord). My greatest joy in Mount and Blade: Warband has been singleplayer and the vast amounts of mods. My greatest joy currently in Mount and Blade: Bannerlord has been the singleplayer experience only because it has gotten more love and attention than Multiplayer (which would have taken first place on initial release of Early Access due to introduction of Captain Mode). While I have loved all that Taleworlds has done for the singleplayer experience in Bannerlord, I have a lot to say about the Captain Mode multiplayer experience and where Taleworlds is directing it, which I will emphasize now (this is based on the date 19-08-2021 following Future Plans update on Steam August the 17th).

My outlook on the lacks and wants of Captain Mode Multiplayer:

First off, the gameplay:
1. Communication:
I am happy that Taleworlds has chosen to allow voice chat and quick-chat commands. One of the big problems has always been communication.
Yet, I feel like the time between rounds is too short to allow any kind of constructive communication. It would be wise to allow for more time between rounds to communicate with your team, strategize and change setup.
2. Progression: