Just nerf ranged damage by 30%

Users who are viewing this thread

We'll be bringing it up again at the next player feedback meeting and seeing what our stance on this is.

Sounds like a nice idea.

A damage slider is not the answer and opens up lots of other issues. The short answer is armor values just don't cut it as they are too low for the damage values. While the damage values are fine for unarmored player/NPCs based on hit point values which is a 100 baseline without bonus.

Exabit A

a polearm for example that does 150 damage

Exabit B

A high end 200K body armor that gives 50 protection

Looking at the example without any speed bonus or handling discounts it doesn't really matter if they have armor on. An unarmored recruit will die just as easy as a lord with the best armor. This is just one example, but is essentially the armor system in a nutshell currently. Will it change the way battles feel? ... yes but for the better imo.

I have been modding for more than 20 years with the Total war series and created mods like Shieldwall for Thrones of Britannia. This is nothing more than an issue with under valued armor rating system, range is superior do to armor not stopping enough damage. I have doubled armor ratings and legionnaires will make it across the map with some loses but will cleanup in melee against sharpshooters. Ran multiple test and the results were consistent.

It is true.

And melee units are garbage not only bevouse they are just worse in fights:

BUT melee infantry has more problems:

1) Battles become endless kite game. Enemy runs away from you, you chase him. And it never ends, becouse archers are faster. And it is so fkn boring.
But when you have tons of archers - enemy forced to atack you.
2) Battles just dont want to end, becouse this few horse archers dont want to surrender. And again melee infantry sucks in this situation.