Taleworlds, use your community to grow.

Users who are viewing this thread

manekemaan

Sergeant Knight
Being a fervent and long term Mount and Blade player and a Product Manager by trade, an idea came to me about how you could connect with your community and grow the game, together.

The concept is simple, you use and reward the work the community does.

Take a look at all the mods out there. Pick the ones that people seem to enjoy and most importantly, that are coherent within your vision of how you want the game to evolve. Set certain quality standards, and then integrate the mods as toggleable features in the main game.

You don’t let them do it for free. If you want quality, reward the modders. A concept like this might work: Set aside a % of each copy sold of Bannerlord for the modders. Because the player can choose what mods they want to use, you can easily reward modders in a no cure no pay manner. If their mods get used, they get paid. The more you sell, the more they get. Everyone wins, including us, the gamers.

An elaboration on this concept:
You can pay them based on the amount of time their mod has been played, as players often change or add mods. Allow modders to earn 10 cents for every hour someone plays with their mod. If you would set aside 10% of every sale, that would allow modders to earn a total of €5 over 50 hours of gameplay.

Should you want to try a POC:
  • 1000 new players buy Bannerlord because of the first 10 mods you add.
  • Let's say that on average a player activates 5 mods (purely fictional number)
  • A few mods probably are a bit more popular, so earnings will vary.
Taleworlds, would have earned €45.000 and the modding community €5000. Which would be split among the different modders based on gametime.

I’m not saying that a lot of modders will be able to make a living out of this. But as more and more of them start to accept donations for their work, you can also help them to reach more people.