Almost **** my pants fighting giant axeman with 100 AI level difficulty mod

Users who are viewing this thread

abc123456

Regular
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Bannerlord AI has a maximum possible AI level of 100 but this is hidden from the current game?

I used the 'Improved Combat AI' mod to unlock the AI combat skills to the maximum possible value allowed by the game.

The last duel against the giant axeman was terrifying. The axe swings would constantly stun my parry.

This is my first time trying to beat the arena. I did not know there was a two-handed axeman at the end. It was nice emergent storytelling fighting through normal mobs when out of nowhere comes this scary axeman. He was throwing the right insults too.

what the duck. after all that complaining that combat AI is bad (ok, I admit I may have mentioned it once only) it turns there's a simple mod enabling harder difficulty?

I don't know TaleWorld's reasoning behind making the AI lower than its maximum threshold. Maybe it is temporary, maybe it is to distinguish lower-tier troops vs higher tier troops more or something completely different. One can only guess. I hope they unleash the maximum AI difficulty on full release though. Making that video was one of the most fun I had in the game. It was intense.

Unfortunately there are still some ways to cheese the AI. VS spear for example, made a separate video about that.

Interestingly, I notice the AI has more trouble blocking a spiked club than a sword...

Also you can punch and kick the enemy somewhat easily.

With some practice a kick and weapon attack can hit the AI if you time them right.

Last edited:
What really surprises me in that video is someone playing first person and actually blocking, unless he's using autoblock

What really surprises me in that video is someone playing first person and actually blocking, unless he's using autoblock